Asgata Ultra 70K - Course Description

The Asgata Ultra 70km race is entirely on tarmac road starting from Asgata village central square and follows a circular route passing by the nearby villages of Moni (8km) – Kalavasos (21km) – Tohni(25km) Chirokitia (28km) – Vavla (34km) – Lagia (38km) - Ora (46km) – Akapnou (50km) – Eftagonia (53km) – Kellaki (57km) – Sanida (60km) – Vasa (64km) – Asgata (70km).
Total distance is 70 km with 1,300m positive ascend. Cut off time to complete the race is at 12 hrs (18:00 Saturday 20/04/19).
- The race starts from Asgata village square and follows the road to Monagroulli/Limassol.
- At 8.5 km at the junction the runners should turn left, following the old road to Nicosia.
- Heading straight for 6.3 km they should reach Governor's beach road bridge at 14.3 km. They should head straight (to Nicosia) and turn left following the parallel to the highway road.
- Following this uphill-downhill road for 4.5 km then they will turn right at the junction, over the bridge and turn left entering the old road to Nicosia again, headed to Kalavasos.
- Reaching Kalavasos roundabout after 2.8 km, at 21.4 km runners should head to Tohni running a distance of 6 km though Tohni village
- Turning left at Chirokitia, at 27.2 they should follow the road to Vavla for 9.6 km
- Reaching Vavla runners should turn right, entering the village, and then after they pass through it, they should turn right to head to villages Lageia and then Ora.
- When they reach Ora village they should turn left entering the village and after 700m turn left and head to Akapnou village.
- Following the main road of Akapnou (downhill) they should exit the village and head to Eftagonia village, where they reach at 53 km.
- They should then follow the old road to Kellaki which is a brutal uphill until km 57.
- They should turn left following the signs to Asgata, passing by a steep pine road for 500m and then again following the signs for Sanida,Vasa,Asgata they should turn left at 57.5 km.
- Ending with a downhill they should reach Sanida at 62 km and then Vasa at 65 km .
- Flying downhill the rest 5 km they should reach Asgata square at 70 km.
Checkpoints: There will be 11 checkpoints.
1. at 8.5km Moni kiosk
2. at 15km right after Governor's beach bridge
3. at 21.5km after Kalavasos round about
4. at 28km Chirokoitia village
5. at 33km ascent to Vavla
6. at 40km Lageia village
7. at 46km Ora village (Cut off 7:30 hours)
8. at 52km Eftagonia village
9. at 56km Kellaki village
10. at 60km Sanida village
11. at 64km Vasa village
Race Maps:
- Garmin Activity
- GPX File
Asgata Ultra Ascend